Hans H. Diebner's Research

Performative Science

It has been repeatedly noticed in philosophy of science and history of science that the mechanisms for the creation of knowledge in sciences oftentimes cannot explicitly be formulated. Scientists have implicit knowledge and heuristics and intuition show to advantage. A crucial role is played by the intimate interaction of the researcher with the research object (the epistemic thing) and the appliances.

Knowledge is created during an enactment without always following a strict propositional logic. In general, this is called performativity. In my own research, in referring to the work of the philosopher Martin Heidegger, I proceed on the assumption that "being-in-the-world" comes to its own in scientific doing, too. Notwithstanding the restricted verbalization of performative mechanisms it is a challenging question of whether one can at least set-up environments in which these hidden performative qualities can prosper in order to foster innovation and the creation of knowledge.

It is above all and so far almost exclusively the arts that are skilled with performativity. This is, of course, a topic in art theory. It is my attempt to fruitfully adopt this previously art theoretical studies for natural scientific and technological areas within the scope of what I call performative science. That implies a research that is located between specific problems in complex systems research and methodological research. Because my particular dedication to performative science roughly since 1999 I dedicated this area of research a separate Internet site.

Hans H. Diebners Forschung

Performative Wissenschaft

In der wissenschaftsphilosophischen und wissenschaftshistorischen Forschung ist mehrfach festgestellt worden, dass die Wirkungsweise bei der Generierung von Erkenntnis in den Wissenschaften oft nicht explizit formulierbar ist. WissenschaftlerInnen verfügen über ein implizites Wissen, es kommt Heuristik und Intuition zur Geltung. Eine entscheidende Rolle spielt die innige Involviertheit der ForscherInnen in ihren Forschungsgegenstand (das epistemische Ding) und die Apparate.

Wissen wird im Vollzug generiert, ohne schon immer einer propositionalen Logik zu folgen. Im Allgemeinen spricht man hier von Performativität. In Anlehnung an die Arbeiten des Philosophen Martin Heidegger gehe ich auch im wissenschaftlichen Bereich von einem "In-der-Welt-sein" aus. Die spannende Frage ist, ob trotz der eingeschränkten Artikulierbarkeit von performativen Mechanismen eine für Innovation und Erkenntnis begünstigende Situation geschaffen werden kann, so dass diese gewissermaßen verborgenen Qualtitäten besonders zur Geltung kommen.

Es ist vor allem und bisher fast ausschließlich die Kunst, die sich auf Performativität besonders gut versteht, was in der Kunsttheorie auch gebührend thematisiert wird. Im Rahmen der performativen Wissenschaft versuche ich, diese Studien auch für naturwissenschaftliche und technologischen Bereiche fruchtbar zu machen. Es ergibt sich eine Forschung, die zwischen konkreten Fragestellungen im Bereich komplexer Systeme und methodischer Forschung angesiedelt ist. Diese Forschung betreibe ich seit etwa 1999 mit einer besonderen Hingabe, weshalb ich der performativen Wissenschaft eine eigene Internetseite gewidmet habe.